Wednesday, August 27, 2008

ASPLP: Evolution and Morality

See you there! To join the ASPLP and subscribe to Nomos, see information here.

Annual Meeting of the American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy
August 28-29, 2008

In conjunction with the American Political Science Association
Hynes Convention Center/ Boston Marriott Copley Place/ Sheraton Boston Hotel, Boston, MA

Evolution and Morality

Conference co-chairs: Sanford Levinson, W. St. John Garwood and W. St. John Garwood, Jr. Centennial Chair of Law and Professor of Government, University of Texas, and James Fleming, The Honorable Frank R. Kenison Distinguished Scholar in Law, Boston University

Thursday, August 28
4:15 PM: Panel 1. Hynes 105
Philip Kitcher, John Dewey Professor of Philosophy and James R. Barker Professor of Contemporary Civilization, Columbia University: "Naturalistic Ethics without Fallacies"
Jonathan Beckwith, American Cancer Society Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, Harvard Medical School
Robin B. Kar, Professor of Law, Loyola Law School
Chair: James Fleming

7:30 PM: Evening Reception, Sheraton Exeter

Friday, August 29
7:00 AM: Breakfast reception

7:50 AM: Annual business meeting, Sheraton Independence Ballroom West

8:00 AM: Panel 2. Sheraton Independence Ballroom West
Nita Farahany, Assistant Professor of Law and Assistant Professor of Philosophy, Vanderbilt University: "Law and Behavioral Morality"
Walter Sinnott-Armstrong, Professor of Philosophy and Hardy Professor of Legal Studies, Dartmouth University
Jennifer Culbert, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Johns Hopkins University
Chair: Jacob T. Levy, Tomlinson Professor of Political Theory, McGill University

10:15 AM: Panel 3, Sheraton Independence Ballroom West
Larry Arnhart, Professor of Political Science, Northern Illinois University: "Deep History in Biopolitical Science"
Daniel Lord Smail, Professor of History, Harvard University
Richard Richards, Associate Professor of Philosophy, University of Alabama
Chair: Donald Horowitz, James B. Duke Professor of Law and Political Science, Duke University