Monday, April 20, 2009

AAAS, &c.

Via Brian Leiter, the new elections to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences have been announced. (See earlier AAAS posts: 2008, 2007, 2006.

Two political theorists were elected, Philip Pettit and Danielle Allen. (Of interest to students of nationalism: Rogers Brubaker was also elected.) I suggested two years ago that "Philip Pettit is surely overdue."

Another year, another opportunity to ask: Where is Michael Walzer on this list?

In other news, Gerald Gaus has been awarded the Gregory Kavka Prize in Political Philosophy for his article "On Justifying the Moral Rights of the Moderns: A Case of Old Wine in New Bottles," Social Philosophy and Policy (2007), 24:1:84-119.

Update: Just noticed this. Go back to the list of new inductees and scroll down to the very final name on the last page.


Will Roberts said...

OK, I did as instructed, Jacob. Am I supposed to recognize "Williams, David Glyndwr Tudor ’94 (University of Cambridge, UK)?

Jacob T. Levy said...

Whoops! Wrong link. Try it now.

djw said...

I agree about Petit, but the overdue people seem to be in literature: I would have imagined Caro, Kincaid, and Pynchon would have been in a long time ago.

Will Roberts said...

:) Paul D. Hewson, eh?