Thursday, September 27, 2007

Announcing the Okin-Young Award in Feminist Political Theory

The Women and Politics and Foundations of Political Theory sections of the American Political Science Association and the Women’s Caucus for Political Science announce the Okin-Young Award in Feminist Political Theory. The award commemorates the scholarly, mentoring, and professional contributions of Susan Moller Okin and Iris Marion Young to the development of the field of feminist political theory. This annual award recognizes the best paper on feminist political theory published in an English language academic journal during the previous calendar year. Papers will be considered by self-nomination or nomination by other individuals. The award carries a cash award of $600. To be eligible, the article must have been published in 2007.

The deadline for submissions is February 15, 2008. To be considered for the award, one copy of the article should be sent to each member of the award committee by mail or electronically as a PDF attachment:

Award committee chair:

Professor Nancy J. Hirschmann
Department of Political Science
The University of Pennsylvania
Stiteler Hall
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Professor Kathy Ferguson
Department of Political Science
University of Hawai'i
640 Saunders Hall
2424 Maile Way
Honolulu, HI 96822

Professor Joanna Vecchiarelli Scott
Eastern Michigan University
1525 Harding Road
Ann Arbor, MI 48104